Laugavegur Highland Walking Trail

from $2353
excluding flights *
6 nights Jun-Sep

Overview

Lace up your boots for one of the world’s classic long-distance hikes. This five-day, small-group guided trek tackles the incredible Laugavegur trail – a 55km journey from the hot springs of Landmannalaugar to the verdant glacial valley of Thorsmork, passing colourful mountain slopes, glaciers, lakes and rivers along the way.

Highlights

  • Explore a truly remote area accessible only on foot
  • Experience the spectacular wilderness of the Highlands
  • Hike with a small group, led by an expert guide
  • Discover the legendary Thorsmork valley
  • See the colourful rhyolite mountains of Landmannalaugar

What's Included

  • Accommodation in rooms with private bathroom
  • All breakfasts, 5 lunches, 4 dinners
  • Trek as per itinerary

Full description

What makes this trek so special?

A small-group walking holiday, striding out with like-minded travellers on a world-class hike in the company of an expert guide... our Laugavegur Highland Trek provides an amazing opportunity to explore the rugged Highlands of the interior. As well as enjoying stupendous views, you will gain a fascinating insight into local culture and geology. For keen photographers, it’s a must.

Putting the Laugavegur on the map

Linking Landmannalaugar with the 'hidden' valley of Thorsmork, the 55km Laugavegur is one of the most popular walking trails in Iceland. Part of Fjallabak Nature Reserve, the rhyolite mountains of Landmannalaugar are richly coloured with yellows, reds and greys. Black lava flows and sapphire-blue lakes add extra splashes to the surreal palette of this otherworldly place where hot springs and freshwater streams have created some fabulous geothermal bathing pools. At the southern end of the Laugavegur trail, Thorsmork is a verdant realm of wooded valleys and dramatic ridges, surrounded on three sides by glaciers.

On the trail

On this four -day trek you will experience all kinds of terrain, from good paths and green valley pastures to rocky scree, volcanic sand and windswept ridges. You might encounter the odd patch of snow and there will also be river crossings. Each day’s walk lasts from 4-7 hours, with no more than 600m of ascent on any day. The trail is suitable for any regular walker with a reasonable level of fitness. Your food and equipment will be transferred by support vehicle, allowing you to walk with just a lightweight daysack. Nights are spent in simple but cosy mountain huts where group participation will be needed for cooking etc.

Contact our Iceland specialists now
nordic team natalie bw
Authentic holidays for passionate travellers

Prices & Dates *

Airfares start from around £70 per person and are quoted separately to the holiday price. When enquiring, our Travel Specialists will provide the best fare possible from your preferred airline / airport.

These are starting prices in £ per person based on rooms with private facilities, unless otherwise stated.

Start End Twin Price (pp) Single Price
Sun 16th Jun 2019 Sat 22nd Jun 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 18th Jun 2019 Mon 24th Jun 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 20th Jun 2019 Wed 26th Jun 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 23rd Jun 2019 Sat 29th Jun 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 25th June 2019 Mon 1st Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 27th Jun 2019 Wed 3rd Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 30th Jun 2019 Sat 6th Jul 2018 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 2nd Jul 2019 Mon 8th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 4th Jul 2019 Wed 10th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 7th Jul 2019 Sat 13th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 9th Jul 2019 Mon 15th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 11th Jul 2019 Wed 17th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 14th Jul 2019 Sat 20th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 16th Jul 2019 Mon 22nd Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 18th Jul 2019 Wed 24th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 21st Jul 2019 Sat 27th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 23rd Jul 2019 Mon 29th Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 25th Jul 2019 Wed 31st Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 28th Jul 2019 Sat 3rd Jul 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 30th Jul 2019 Mon 5th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 1st Aug 2019 Wed 7th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 4th Aug 2019 Sat 10th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 6th Aug 2019 Mon 12th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 8th Aug 2019 Wed 14th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 11th Aug 2019 Sat 17th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 13th Aug 2019 Mon 19th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 15th Aug 2019 Wed 21st Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 18th Aug 2019 Sat 24th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Tue 20th Aug 2019 Mon 26th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 22nd Aug 2019 Wed 28th Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 25th Aug 2019 Sat 31st Aug 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 29th Aug 2019 Wed 4th Sep 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 1st Sep 2019 Sat 7th Sep 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Thu 5th Sep 2019 Wed 11th Sep 2019 £1,796 £1,940
Sun 8th Sep 2019 Sat 14th Sep 2019 £1,796 £1,940

What's Included

  • Accommodation in rooms with private bathroom in Reykjavik
  • Accommodation with shared facilities for 4 nights in mountain huts on full board basis (except breakfast on day one and dinner on the last day of the trek)
  • All breakfasts, 5 lunches, 4 dinners
  • Airport transfers between Keflavik Airport and Reykjavik hotel
  • Bus transportation as per itinerary
  • Jeep transfer for food and equipment between campsites
  • Sleeping bag & cooking gear
  • Services of guide
  • 24 hour emergency assistance from our team during your holiday
  • No surcharge guarantee

Dietary requirements can be catered for from £45 per person for the length of the tour and must be pre booked.

Group size this tour operates with a minimum 6 persons / maximum 16 persons.

Important note this tour operates on minimum numbers. Please see our booking conditions for more details.

Itinerary & Accommodation

Itinerary & Accommodation

Day 1: Arrive in Iceland

Fly from the UK to Keflavik and transfer by bus to your hotel in Reykjavik for an overnight stay.

Day 2: Reykjavík to Landmannalaugar, hike to Hrafntinnusker

Take an early morning bus to Landmannalaugar, passing Hekla and other volcanoes in the Domadalur area. After lunch, set off on the trail, heading south into the mountains past gorges, hot springs and colourful mountain ridges. Overnight at Hrafntinnusker mountain hut.
Distance: 12km | Walking time: 4-5hrs | Ascent: 470m

Day 3: Hrafntinnusker to Alftavatn

Walk through the gullies of Jokultungur with their steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. There are wonderful views south towards Swan Lake and the Myrdalsjokull and Eyjafjallajokull glaciers. Overnight at Álftavatn hut.
Distance: 12km | Walking time: 4-5 hrs | Descent: 490m

Day 4: Alftavatn to Emstrur

A day of striking contrasts, the trail weaves among green, moss-clad mountains rising from the black desert of Maelifellssandur. The trail then leads towards another ancient volcano, Hattfell, and the Emstrur region – once used as a summer sheep pasture. Venture into the Markarfljot canyon, before heading to Botnar hut for the night.
Distance: 16km | Walking time: 6-7hrs | Descent: 40m

Day 5: Emstrur to Thorsmork

Continue weaving through the small valleys of Emstrur, close to the Myrdalsjokull icecap. Towards the end of the day, the vegetation starts to become denser as you descend into Thorsmork (Woods of Thor) with its valleys filled with birch woodland and flowers. Overnight at Thorsmork.
Distance: 17km | Walking time: 6-7hrs | Descent: 300m

Day 6: Thorsmork to Reykjavík

Spend the morning in Thorsmork exploring one or two of the numerous paths. Options include the Songhellir cave and the climb up Valahnukur for panoramic views. Later, take the afternoon bus to Reykjavík for an overnight stay at your hotel.

Day 7: Return to UK

Transfer by bus from your hotel in Reykjavik to Keflavik International Airport for your flight back to the UK.

Other Information

 

 

How to Book
Call us on 01737 214 250 to discuss your plans or
Enquire Now
Browse the website

Find a holiday idea or suggested itinerary that inspires you, then send an enquiry or call us

Personalised Quote

Your dedicated travel specialist will create a quote based on your preferences

Refine & Book

Together we’ll refine your itinerary until you’re happy and ready to book

You’re in safe hands

From the moment you book until you return home we’re here for you no matter what

You may also like

In the Footsteps of Elves

from $2374
excluding flights
6 nights May-Sep
Enjoy guided hikes in the East Fjords with its epic scenery and folklore.
  • Escorted
  • Walking and Trekking
Iceland